Viktor&Rolf Dolls

V&R ROM 2013 catwalk

The advantage of having reduced hours at work is the sudden abundance of free time. Sometimes I have too much of it and piss it away instead of being productive. Other times, I come up with A Great Idea and decide to immerse myself in art. Take this past Wednesday, for example. After an early shift at work, I headed to the ROM to check out the Viktor&Rolf Dolls currently on display.

Viktor&Rolf are an Amsterdam-based fashion design duo. Admittedly, I do not know much about them but give them points for the use of an ampersand and no spaces in their name. Seriously, I love creative punctuation. Anyhow, my visit to the exhibit was a way to learn more about their work. I’m so glad I went.

Each doll represents a collection. Viktor&Rolf pick one defining look for that collection which is then recreated on a Victorian doll down to the last detail, including hair and makeup. It’s such an original way to archive their collections and lends itself well to an exhibition.

V&R ROM 2013 antlers

This antler/mermaid look from the Fall 2004 line is my favourite. It appeals to my playful side which enjoys the fantasy of costume and dress-up. I would wear this.

V&R ROM 2013 frida V&R ROM 2013 bells

Other standouts include the Frida Kahlo inspired outfit, as well as the black gown ornamented with gold and silver bells. Imagine walking down the red carpet, tinkling all the way! My secret name for it is Fancy Cat Bell Dress.

V&R ROM 2013 catwalk 2

This is a small gem, a must-see and free of charge! It’s located in the ROM’s Thorsell Spirit House, a great little space tucked away across from the ticket desk. Fortunately, you do not need to pay admission to see this display. Just walk in and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

