Welcome to Curated Style!

IMG-20140522-00604
Trying on the Marimekko for Banana Republic Collection, Bloor near Bay, May 22, 2014

Apparently I have good style.

I never really thought about it. It was just something that came simply and naturally to me. I thought it was easy to pick out great clothes and that everyone knew as much as I did about fashion.

Apparently I was wrong.

After years of doling out style advice, spending hours at sample sales, recommending local shops, and taking the extra five minutes to make an outfit just right at the risk of being late (again) for work, I realized that I really do love fashion and maybe, just maybe, know a bit more than the average person when it comes to style.

As you can see from my previous post, dated over a year ago, this blog has been a long time coming. Life happened, grad school happened, and I struggled with over-thinking, self-doubt, and fear of failure. But with encouragement from my friends and people constantly saying that I should write a fashion blog, I finally got myself together and did it. The following quote from actor Hugh Laurie was a big push for me:

“It’s a terrible thing, I think, in life to wait until you’re ready. I have this feeling now that actually no one is ever ready to do anything. There is almost no such thing as ready. There is only now. And you may as well do it now. Generally speaking, now is as good as time as any.”

So what is Curated Style? It’s essentially a love letter to style and fashion in the city of Toronto. It’ll contain my style tips, sweet finds, favourite shops and designers, and info on Toronto fashion events, exhibitions, openings, lectures, and sales. It’ll be inclusive, fun, accessible, and welcoming, which the fashion industry is so often not. It’ll focus on independent businesses, local designers, and affordable buys.

I welcome your tips, feedback, comments, and questions. I hope you enjoy Curated Style and that it encourages you to have fun with fashion, express yourself through your style, and become creative with what you wear.

Leave a Reply

