Style Tip One: Compliment Others

Dress Code store front, Yonge and College, July 4, 2014
Dress Code store front, Yonge and College, July 4, 2014

It was a sweltering Saturday. I was walking down University Avenue, lifting my arms in some sort of weird chicken dance in an attempt to air out my sweaty underarms on my way to work.   A lady on a cell phone passed by, did a double take, smiled at me, and said into her phone “I had to stop and look at this pretty outfit.” So sweet! I thanked her and grinned all the way to work, sweaty pits be damned! It was nice to have someone notice my outfit. I had taken the time to pair a light grey tee with my French Connection knife-pleated colour block skirt and Julie Moon faceted porcelain necklace.

It’s always super flattering when someone compliments you on what you’re wearing. I don’t know about you, but it never fails to brighten my day. And, despite my shyness, I try to do the same. I see great style all over the city. If you catch me staring at you on the subway, it’s probably because I’m loving your shoes or digging your ability to put together a wicked outfit. I try to be subtle about it, but who am I kidding?! It’s hard to look away from great style.

Thus, my first ever style tip is to compliment others often and sincerly. When you see someone rocking an outfit you love, say it. Let them know. Give them a thumbs up. Then watch them light up. You’ve made their day! There, didn’t that feel good?

So much of the fashion industry is about competition. In a world of Who Wore It Best?, snarky fashion critics, and ridiculously expensive handbags, I think we need more positive words and inclusiveness. There’s this underlying idea that we can only look good if someone looks worse. Instead of constantly judging and making fashion a competition, let’s agree that we can all look good in our own unique ways. And the best way to foster this is to acknowledge when someone else looks good without feeling threatened.

If you learn anything from this blog, I hope that it’s the ability to appreciate and celebrate personal style and embrace your own likes. There is no “best” outfit, just your own wonderful personal style.

2 thoughts on “Style Tip One: Compliment Others

  1. I love looking at other people’s outfits for inspiration but I’m too scared to compliment whenever I see something unique just because as much as it can be seen as flattering, it could also come across as creepy… I wish it would be easier to stop random people on the streets and just discuss fashion 🙂 Love your blog, you just got a new follower!

    • Good comment @thehipalley! I have the same fears but trust me, it’s not creepy. You just have to get over that fear and have those great, random fashion conversations. Thanks for stopping by and hope you continue to enjoy Curated Style! 🙂

Leave a Reply

