Out and About: Jack White Concert

Calvin Klein heeled sandals paired with MAC “Something About Pink” nail polish
Posing in the street, St-George and Bernard, July 31, 2014 (photo by Mark Orchard)

Jack White played the ACC last night. It was my first arena show in a long while!

Concert dressing has always been funny for me. In my twenties, I wanted to project this image of being part of the scene. I’d wear my ‘rock’ outfit, usually jeans, a dark, fitted, sleeveless tank, some chunky jewelry, and dark eyeliner. Or for a ska show, I’d do low-slung skater pants, a white tank, and a studded leather arm cuff. That’s changed. In my thirties, a concert or any other event is an awesome excuse to bust out my fancier duds and just have fun with whatever I feel like wearing.

Jack White, Air Canada Centre, July 31, 2014 (photo by David James Swanson http://jackwhiteiii.com/live-photos/)
Jack White, Air Canada Centre, July 31, 2014 (photo by David James Swanson http://jackwhiteiii.com/live-photos/)

So for Jack White, I dressed up. I admire his carefully styled aesthetic. He’s a genius musician but also understands the importance of the visual. His style, the stage, the merch … everything was crafted to a T. He even wore a pin stripped suit with suspenders on stage! Thus, in honour of the bluegrass influences in his music and pulled together look, I debuted my new Sarah Ball shirtdress. This is one of my recent and current favourite second-hand finds. It’s from a 2012 collaboration between Anthropologie and American photographer Sarah Ball featuring three garments with Ball’s work printed on the fabric. I snapped it up at the Kind Exchange in the Annex for about 1/10th of its original price.

Sarah Ball for Anthropologie shirtdress (source: http://styleandcheek.com/2012/05/25/pretty-in-prints/)
Sarah Ball and Anthropologie shirtdress (source: http://styleandcheek.com/2012/05/25/pretty-in-prints/)

Actually, my whole outfit is from the Kind Exchange (or KX for short)! The cute Guess handbag is also from the Annex location and I found those comfortable Calvin Klein heeled sandals at Queen and Bathurst. The KX has upped my style game this year. But I’ll talk more about them in a future post.

Dress: Sarah Ball for Anthropologie Bag: Guess Shoes: Calvin Klein. All items are from various Kind Exchange locations
Dress: Sarah Ball for Anthropologie, Bag: Guess, Shoes: Calvin Klein. All items are from various Kind Exchange locations. (photo by Mark Orchard)

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Out and About: Jack White Concert

Leave a Reply

